Happy Birthday Addy!

Birthday Girl!

Birthday Girl!

In Addy’s American Girl story, she does not know her birthday because she is born into slavery.  Addy chooses her own birthday – April 9.  Addy is 160 today!

When Brianna and I went to the American Girl Outlet last week, I was curious as to whether I would bump into the perfect gift for Addy.

noexif_IMG_5738_privateNormally I am quite analytical with my purchases.  I broke the rules for Addy’s 160th birthday!

Addy Julie

This is Julie’s Summer Skirt Set, which is not retired, nor was it really discounted at the outlet store.  I just knew this is the outfit Addy needed!  Maybe it’s the 1970s kid in me, but I couldn’t pass up the knock-off Dr Scholl’s sandals!  Mine were blue too.

Addy Dr Scholls

And the detail on the blouse is wonderful – the stitching has a variety of colors of thread.  I would have been all over that in the 1970s.

Julie Summer Shirt

It comes with a braided band that Julie wears over her forehead.  That reminds me too much of Greg Brady, so Addy is wearing it as a traditional headband.

Julie Headband

I will say the skirt is a tad tight.  No one else has had a chance to try it on, so I don’t know if Addy had too much cake or perhaps the skirt was returned.  No matter, I am thrilled with the outfit.  Happy birthday Addy . . . may American Girl grant you many more to come!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Addy!

Leave a Reply

