Rummage Treasures – Lindsey

Brianna and I have done a bit of rummage sale shopping this summer.  We have found a number of “throwback” items that are unusual.

At one sale we unearthed this:

American Girl LindseyA waxed envelope jammed in with a variety of kid books.

In it was a photographer’s glossy photo of….

Lindsey AG PhotoLINDSEY!  Isn’t this unusual?  It’s a 5×7 photo.  The back has this:

Lindsey Photo AG DollI am wondering whether any of the more experienced AG collectors like Nonna, Xyra or Heather have ever seen one of these and what the original purpose might have been.  It is hanging in a frame in Brianna’s room now.

The family holding the sale has a daughter (now grown) who played Molly in an AG fashion show in Chicago.

11 thoughts on “Rummage Treasures – Lindsey

  1. Nonna @ mommysdollclub.com

    I have not seen something like this before. It’s clearly a promotional item and was likely a give away with or at something (maybe a thank you from the Fashion Show for being a model?). Ask AG and let us know! It’s a really nice item to find!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Great idea to email the company. I will keep you posted and I appreciate your input. I tried to find one on eBay but did not come across anything similar.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Xyra

    Great find! I totally defer to the others you listed. They are much more experienced than I. 🙂 I agree with Nonna…it could very well be a promotional thank you for participating in the fashion show.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      This was a rummage we showed up at at 1:00. We had several finds there, and the girl (now 20-something) was so tickled to meet a present-day AG fan that she pretty much let us have everything. We ended up giving her a couple of dollars for all the items. Thanks for your thoughts Xyra!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Flo

    That is very interesting! I agree with Nonna, it was probably in a package given to those that participated in the Fashion Show. The fact that the photo paper is professional grade makes me think it was something along those lines.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      This was one of those rummages where the more you dig, the more AG stuff there was (no doll items). I assume that they weren’t selling dolls… I have to tell myself that so I don’t imagine what might have been there had we arrived at 8:00 and not 1:00!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I am pleased we got a frame for it to keep it nice. If we ever downsize when Brianna goes to college I am going to need an AG guest room to store all this stuff! I can’t imagine putting all these girls in storage.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Nonna @ mommysdollclub.com

        A lot of my collection came from my kids when they “outgrew” it so I did make a room for them when the kids left the nest. My nieces/cousins now love playing with them when they visit and I still love setting up dolliramas and making them stuff (and shopping for them because who doesn’t get that THRILL of having found something doll sized??).

        Like

  4. Pingback: Rummage Treasures – AG Trading Cards | The Dolls Between Us

Leave a Reply

