Fall Beauty with Kit

This month I have been reading Kit’s books for the first time — they sure are different from and better than the movie.  In truth, Kit has been a little neglected around here since I bought her at the Madison sale this summer.  She came to us right on the heels of Julie and never got the attention she deserves.

I took her out this weekend for some fall photos.   Here she is wearing one of Cecile’s blouses (I think!) and a one of a kind dress.  Kit would approve of an outfit like this that isn’t frilly and pink.

Kit Kittridge

When my husband saw me taking pictures of Kit he asked if they were for the on-going Isabelle story.  Sorry!  No sneak peeks for you mister.

Kit in FallI think Kit would savor a day to enjoy the beauty of fall without having to do all the chores required of her in her Depression-era stories. Can you imagine feeding and cleaning up after six or more boarders in addition to your own family, every day?!

“I’m just a drudge,” Kit grumbled to herself, feeling cross that even the chickens seemed to take her for granted.  She picked up her broom and went back to work beating the rug hung over the clothesline.  “Mop, sweep, scrub, polish, do the laundry, wash the dishes . . . my chores never end!”

noexif_IMG_6357_privateHere is Kit wearing a hand-knit poncho for chilly fall days in Cincinnati.  Perhaps Kit’s frugal Aunt Millie might have knit the poncho from repurposed yarn.

She and Ruthie presented Kit with a knitted red hat and blue-and-red mittens.  “These aren’t exactly new either,” Ruthie said.  “The red yarn came from an old sweater of Stirling’s that we unraveled, and the blue yard came from a cap of Charlie’s . . . .

noexif_IMG_6358_privateWelcome to the family wonderful Kit!

—For a fabulous trip through the best Kit book —  “Happy Birthday Kit” — visit Dollightful Dolls for Heather’s photo story.

Knit poncho came from a craft fair courtesy of Brianna’s Grandma 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “Fall Beauty with Kit

  1. Message In A Fold

    You cracked me up! I had a big guffaw when I read about your husband’s question and your response “No sneak peeks for you Mister”. I’m still chuckling.

    I have to tell you that I am flaming jealous! Jealous I tell you! Really, I am very happy for your daughter. The two of you are in the thick of an adventure together with your American Doll collection. These are memories she will keep for the rest of her life, and you will as well.
    Leslie

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I’ve gotten a lot smarter since being a mom… First there was a dinosaur obsession, then presidents and American history. I think I may have gotten a C in history in high school! Reading the Amer Girl books together when she was younger really made me interested in history too!
      If you ever see the historical American Girl books at Goodwill or rummage sales, start grabbing them for the Grandbabies. The new books do not have pictures and when a doll retires, her books go out of print too. If I see a book for .25 I grab it for my nieces.
      I am grateful to have a life that allows me to spend time with my daughter. Some of my friends work two low paying jobs, and there just isn’t time to slow down with kids.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Message In A Fold

        Thank you, Jen, for the heads up on American Girl books at the Goodwill and rummage sales. I’ll have a look on my next trip and keep a beady eye out for them. – You and your daughter have been enjoying the American Girl dolls for quite a long time, I take it. AWESOME! I’m very glad you are sharing your enjoyment with the rest of us.
        Leslie

        Like

    1. Jen Post author

      I really like Kit’s story so much better in the books than the movie. It was moving how the author showed us Will’s simple gratitude to be able to wash up with soap. Kit is a great example for all of us… The world needs us and we have to jump in where we are and do something.

      Like

      Reply
  2. jackylina

    Aw, thanks so much for mentioning me and my blog! My Kit has also not been getting the attention she deserves and although I’ve read the books, I’ve read them so long ago I barely remember them! I plan to do a paraphrase of Kit’s books every other month throughout this whole year with the dolls acting out the scenes. Stay tuned for Kit Learns a Lesson in November!
    I love how your Kit is wearing all homemade things. The jumper is beautiful and could work for dolls like Addy and Kirsten too.
    I feel as impatient as your husband…. When are we going to see the finale to Isabelle’s story? I’m so excited for it! I was hoping for a sneak peek too! hee hee.
    I find it wonderful too that not only are you and your daughter creating wonderful memories together but Brianna’s Grandma is in on the fun too! How very special.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I am so grateful for your posts on Kit because I didn’t even know about Aunt Millie. She is the star of the happy birthday book and I feel like she is a kindred spirit of mine even though I have never canned tomatoes 🙂 My Grandma did things like make dandelion wine and grow raspberries for jam… She is the one we did the doll show for at the nursing home.
      I hope to finish of the Isabelle story this weekend. This working thing really interferes with my blogging time!
      I hope to have Kit doing some writing next month, and I look forward to your next installment in your Kit series.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

