Kit Takes Charge

by Margaret Mildred Kittridge

Hi everyone!  Have you noticed that lately Jen and Brianna have been nowhere to be found?  They have been so busy that poor Saige has been in bed for about three weeks!  My reporter’s nose for news was twitching when out of the blue Jen came home and started looking for Addy’s Meet Outfit – the whole thing including the stockings!  I wasn’t sure I had ever even seen Addy in her black boots.  The next thing I knew there were a house-wide search for Josefina’s other moccasin.  Something was afoot (ha ha!)

This reporter found the story in short order.  The older girls knew that meet outfits could only mean one thing — we were going on a road trip to share our stories with senior citizens in Assisted Living!

noexif_IMG_6447_privateThis was my first time joining the doll presentation, and little did I know I would be the star of the show!  The ladies loved my sweater twinset and pleated skirt.  Can I tell you a secret?  I saw one person look at Caroline’s underwear!  That made me blush a little.  After Jen and Brianna spoke, we all watched my movie and had popcorn!  Many of the ladies remembered cars like the ones my Dad sold, and the songs and furnishings in the movie brought back lots of memories.

Doll Show

Of course we didn’t stay on the table, we got out for hugs and admiration

We piled back in our big container and drove home, a little exhausted from so much love.  We hit the road again in January; until then we will try to not misplace our shoes and stockings!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Kit Takes Charge

  1. jackylina

    Kit did a great job on that news report. Her detective skills were right on the mark. I bet the seniors especially enjoyed Kit’s movie! What a great choice. I’m excited to hear what the theme will be for January. Molly? Or could it be… Maryellen?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I was glad to have an opportunity to visit another facility, as I had a special purpose in mind for Kit when we went to the MCM sale and I couldn’t resist her. It was great to have an early 20th C doll since we seem to gravitate to the 1800s. I have to get Molly’s movie as well. I’m looking for a Molly who wants to get out of the house or that might want to be a permanent addition to our clan!

      Like

      Reply
      1. jackylina

        You can usually get used Molly’s on ebay for very reasonable prices. I got Molly’s movie at a rummage sale but haven’t sat down to watch it yet. Right now I’d rather play with my dolls than watch a movie about them!

        Like

    1. Jen Post author

      We heard stories about Shirley Temple dolls, dolls made from leather with porcelain hands, Poor Pitiful Pearl dolls, and of course, ladies who sewed Barbie clothes back in the day!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Cindi Chipping

    I love that you gals do this. It’s such a wonderful thing. Fun idea to show Kit’s movie too. I would love to have my daughter take her dolls somewhere and do a presentation like this. Who knows, it might happen!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      We have found that senior living/assisted living places are very receptive to having new activities for residents. Dolls are great because they can be held and touched even if vision/hearing is poor. Everyone is surprised at how heavy the dolls are!
      We talk for about 30 min. Once the dolls are circulating no,one pays any attention to us!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

