Lea Clark Sneak Peek

Today we got our first full-size peek at Lea Clark.  If you haven’t seen it, search YouTube for Lea Clark photos.

My thoughts…

I really like her messenger bag, shoes and necklace.  Overall AG seems to nail the accessories they sell.

It’s still hard to tell what color her eyes are.  I am getting green and gray tones when I look at her.   I am not seeing Caroline eyes as some have speculated.  I am cautiously optimistic about her eyes.

Josefina mold is fine with me but coming right after Grace, I see the face and think ‘Grace.’  I can live with the Josefina mold, though, if we get a new face mold for our new BeForever AA girl.  Please don’t retire Addy and just give the Addy mold a new wig!

The wig is not my favorite.  That color to me is brassy and reminiscent of the 80s product “Sun-In”, which bleached your hair and turned it slightly peroxide orange.  I’m keeping my opinion flexible because the AG photos, for me, are often not as compelling as those that bloggers take.

I think Lea will be a success for the target market, and maybe the collectors will find some interesting accessories along the way.  Your thoughts?

15 thoughts on “Lea Clark Sneak Peek

  1. Cindi Chipping

    My daughter Maggie is “underwhelmed” by Lea. She was interested in the fact that it’s Josephina’s face mold, but thought the eye color looked like many other dolls. Her theory is that AG bought a huge lot of hazel eyes and now they have to get rid of them all! Maggie was really hoping for a black doll of the year since there hasn’t been one in 16 years.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Hi Cindi .. Always great to hear Maggie’s thoughts. I am kind of perplexed by the hazel eyes here there and everywhere lately. Hazel is such a rare color to begin with, but now hazel is the new brown!
      I hope you will check in again and let me know if Santa delivered anything for Maggie from American Girl.
      When Maggie is a designer for AG she can make sure we see some amazing girls of color represented! šŸ’—

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. jackylina

    I kind of think her eyes are hazel (light hazel maybe?)
    When I first learned about her I got really excited not only because her story sounded fresh and new (it’s been a while since Jess and Kanani) and this next year is AG’s 30th anniversary so I was hoping for something like they did with Kanani (their 25th anniversary) a brand new VERY unique doll.
    When I saw mini Leah Clark I was apprehensive about what the big doll would look like and now that I see the big doll I’m kind of just “meh”. At least I don’t dislike her (like Grace, I really strong reactions to her) and I want to see her for real in person before I truly make an opinion. Right now, she looks like a creepy version of Marisol! I think she’ll look better in person though. (less creepy)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Cross between Marisol and McKenna?
      At least we are taking a break from the mini bangs šŸ˜ƒ
      I always enjoy reading the GOTY books, regardless of the doll, but right now I think I want to focus on Addy’s items.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. jackylina

        I think that’s probably a smart thing to do. I’m still hearing rumors that Addy’s going to be the next to retire. Someone said their Personal Shopper at an AG store told her that. You can’t always trust PS’s but you never know.

        Like

      2. Sunny

        I really hope that Addy doesn’t retire! šŸ˜¦ It seems like AG thinks that they can’t have two dolls of color out at the same time, which I don’t like. Also, Addy was one of the last dolls to be released when AG was still Pleasant Company.
        *Sunny

        Like

      3. Jen Post author

        Me too! Addy did get a lot of nice items (some of the best IMO) in the BeForever makeover, so there’s that. Josefina hasn’t seen much new as far as I can recall.

        Like

  3. Flo

    She just looks like Rebecca grew out her hair, had it highlighted and got a suntan. LOL at the Sun In comment. I’m not all that excited about her and doubt I will get her. (#noroomattheinn) I do love her messenger bag though, I’m hoping maybe that is a set sold separately.

    I agree with the whole hazel eyes thing, I was excited to see AG offer them, but now it’s getting out of hand. Only 5-8% of the worlds population has hazel eyes (I am one of them). At this rate, 50% of the dolls offered will have them!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I agree that there is a lot of similarity with Rebecca. Rebecca meets Charo. There’ s a blast from the past! I have to confess, though, that I am always disinterested in GOTY but after Brianna has them around for a while, they grow on me. Isabelle is apparently a fave of mine because she keeps showing up in my stories!
      Kanani may look good in these clothes, especially that purple romper that leaked, if accurate.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  4. Sunny

    I’m kinda half and half on Lea. I like the fact that she has medium(ish) skin, but…the light hair and tan skin combo isn’t the best in my opinion. I wish they hadn’t used the Josefina mold again, but oh well. I’m sure she will look much prettier in the catalogs and on the AG website! šŸ™‚
    *Sunny

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Half and half… Well stated. I think her clothes and accessories will be fun, especially because Saige, Grace and Isabelle had more grown up/older girl clothes. Like you, I’m not crazy about the hair color with the skin but holding out hope it’s better when not viewed on someone’s iPhone !

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. kissedawake

    Yeah… I’m not all that excited about Lea. The repeat hazel eyes drives me crazy. Isabelle, Maryellen, now Lea. Would it kill them to give a doll brown eyes or bring back gray? Even the medium blonde hair after strawberry-blonde Maryellen feels like a repeat. >.<

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Brianna, on the other hand, is definitely excited for Lea. She has 50.00 saved up so far. It seems like response to Lea is positive in the target age group.
      Have you had time to read Maryellen’s book? I really enjoyed it!!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

