Doll Storage

What sweeter subject is there in the organizing month of January than doll storage?  You might recall that when we went to the Madison Children’s Museum sale this past summer, we met some new friends while waiting in line.  When we heard Maggie had 23 dolls (at the time 😉 ) we said, “How do you store them??!”  The answer was shelves, and quick as you please we were able to see the collection on her iPhone.  You might remember Maggie as our guest post author on Maryellen’s launch.

Well, the time came for us to find a storage solution after Maryellen and Dakota joined the family.  There are always a few dolls “in use” and a few others waiting in the wings.  We picked up a shelf from Target that is unobtrusive and doesn’t take up valuable floor space for playing.

American Girl Doll StorageWe are grateful to Mr. DollsBetweenUs for putting the shelf up so nicely!

I would love to hear your approach to doll display and storage!

P.S. Can you believe that another blogger was also in the line to go into the MCM sale at 7:15am and we (including Maggie) all appear in a picture on her blog!

 

13 thoughts on “Doll Storage

  1. Flo

    Since I have the dollhouse, my girls are usually posed in various rooms throughout it. If I didn’t have it though, I would probably look into some sort of shelving for them so I could display them. I’ll be doing a post on my organization project in the next few weeks, so far so good!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Can’t wait to read more about your organization efforts. I can see that having a dollhouse would give a nice central place to display things, and a good reason to have a dining table for dolls 😃

      Like

      Reply
  2. jackylina

    My description of my doll storage is organized mess! I actually don’t have very much storage for the dolls themselves, just 2 shelves, mainly because my dolls are so active they don’t want to sit on a shelf and wait for me to play with them. They’d rather be doing something. It’s all the other stuff that needs the shelf space. I have 6 rooms/display areas (not counting the doll bathroom or stable) were my dolls live. I try to keep at least one of those areas empty so if I come up with a brilliant doll idea/story I have a space to do it.
    Clothes go in old (very big) suitcases and plastic bins. Since I have chubby AG dolls who don’t fit the clothes my slim dolls wear it is all separated. One suitcase has AG fall/winter clothes another has AG summer/spring clothes. It’s the same for the slim dolls with their plastic bins.
    I have a big chest at the end of my bed where I keep big seasonal items like bikes and tents and such. And it also stores the snowpants and coats or bathing suits and towels depending on the season.
    I inherited a beautiful oak rolltop desk with very shallow drawers from my grandma after she died and when I was in college I used it as a desk, but now, it is full of doll shoes. The shallow drawers make it perfect for this. The top drawer has slim doll shoes, the second, AG shoes, the third, AG boots, and the fourth, Christmas dresses.
    Everything else that can’t fit in the suitcases or bins are stored in gallon size plastic bags; ice skates, underwear, tights, raincoats/boots/umbrellas, backpacks.
    The very fancy outfits/costumes are either hanging up behind my door, or packed very carefully in a big box.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Sounds like a system that works for you! Usually I have my historical clothes stored in clear thin boxes filed by character. Then I have a bedside drawer with various non historical items in it, and Brianna has no system at all which makes me a little crazy but I try to be hands off.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. littlehouseofamericangirl

    The dolls look so cute on the shelf! 🙂
    My dolls were all lined up on top of my cubbies for a long time, but then I just recently put them back under my loft bed. They aren’t really set up right now, but they’re under there! My grandpa is supposed to be building me a dollhouse very soon so then that’s where all my dolls will be. I’m so excited! 😀
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you! Having your Grandpa build a dollhouse sounds amazing! When I was in 6th grade I built a regular dollhouse with my family. A special memory and I wish I still had it!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      A hanging shoe storage piece seems like it would be a great way to keep parts of outfits together. Somehow the tops and bottoms here are always getting separated!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you! I love your cabinet you wrote about a month or so ago. I have a new Ballard designs catalog and I would love to do something similar for my three dolls. DH is a peach about not minding dolls all over the house.

      Like

      Reply
  4. hellodollieblog

    I have some rolling see through storage drawers for the clothing. A Airmore for shoes and accesories. And a trunk for misc. stuff. I also convertted one of the closets in my room as the girls bed room. There are 3 beds in there. Organization is an ongoing struggle!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Xyra & Melody

    Hi! When waiting for the next photo shoot the Tea Time girls sit patiently on my piano (I don’t play). The wardrobe is another issue entirely. Mostly I use large utility totes from Thirty-One, but I’ve added a few your way cubes and rectangles now too. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

