Happy Valentine’s Day!

By Julie

This weekend I have my Dad all to myself because Tracy has a dance at her high school.  Dad said I should get all dressed up for a special Valentine’s/Chinese New Year night in San Francisco.

noexif_IMG_6766_private

This is one of my few outfits that didn’t belong to Tracy.

Julie Tights

The tights are pretty and soft, and the shoes have two separate buckles on them!

Julie Holiday Outfit

Have a Happy Valentine’s Day!

—–

This outfit was a Christmas present from DH.  This is one of the few BeForever outfits that I prefer over the earlier historical items for Julie.  The dress has so many great textures, and the fabric is very heavy and high quality.  There’s many possibilities for the outfit to be wrecked… From the Velcro snagging the brocade, to the sheer sleeves, to the delicate tights.  Careful collectors only!  I hope Julie saves me a dumpling!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. Flo

    Such a pretty outfit! I wish they would quit using Velcro on some of these more delicate pieces, I caught a piece of Grace’s Opening Night outfit on it when I was taking it off a doll. If we have trouble, I can only imagine how mangled some of these outfits get from being played with by little girls.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Exactly… Brianna had Maryellen’s birthday dress (the turquoise one) on a wish list at one point but I couldn’t do it. It’s just too delicate and expensive. We have that satin Cecile or Mary Grace gown that is blue and pink and it is a wreck.

      Like

      Reply
  2. jackylina

    She looks really pretty in it. I love those shoes and the tights look like they’re a different texture than normal. One thing to do with velcro for no snagging: Buy a strip of velcro from a craft store and use the soft part and attach it to the rough part of the dress while you’re putting the dress on the doll. I do this all the time for almost every outfit I put on a doll. I bought 3 velcro strips just in case I loose one. I have never had a problem with snagging since, although I actually don’t like the thinner non-snag velcro AG sometimes uses because my velcro strip doesn’t always stick to it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. kissedawake

    I agree! I really love this updated dress. The colors and fabric pattern are gorgeous! And the sleeves are so delicate and pretty, too! Ah, dumplings sound delicious… There’s a place about a half an hour from me that has such good soup dumplings that the wait is usually over an hour long – but totally worth it.

    Like

    Reply
  4. grammagump

    The outfit is beautiful and the shoes are adorable, somewhat similar to the ones I got for The Wedding so they must be in fashion.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Sharry

    To Julie: I hope you had a nice Valentine’s Day. My Julie (Newman) did.

    To Jen: I love this dress. I have one for Sunny, too. It reminds me of Jan’s Brady’s dress when she went to Lucy Winter’s birthday party (in a black wig). But the headband is really too small!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Sharry, I love that episode of the Brady Bunch! I had forgotten all about it. As a kid I watched soooo much tv after school. Somehow I grew up to be a productive member of society. I guess there is hope for all of those Minecraft kids after all!
      AG just needs to stop with the headbands. They don’t fit!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Xyra

    She looks stunning. I like that outfit a lot. The double buckle on the shoes is a nice touch.

    I like the idea of the velcro strip for changing, but sometimes it seems like it would add too many extra second to changing everyone. However, snags on dresses, tights, and hairstyles are more annoying than a few seconds.

    Sharry, that is perfect! Yes, it does look a bit like Jan’s dress from the wig episode. Julie just needs a pair of wire rim glasses and she could be Jan (although, i tend to think Marie Grace was more Jan like with her pin curls).

    Happy Belated Valentine’s Day! Hope you had fun with your dad!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      This is one historical outfit, though, that the quality of the shoes, tights, and fabric makes me feel the price was worthwhile.
      I always liked Jan. Cindy was too much of a baby and Marsha too perfect!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

