Maryellen’s Day at the Beach

Maryellen loved the ocean: its roar, its salty tang, and the huge blueness of it stretching all the way to the sky. . . .One of Maryellen’s favorite TV shows was a broadcast of the waterskiing and synchronized swimming show at Cypress Gardens, which was right in her own state of Florida. Maryellen pretended now that she was one of the Cypress Gardens mermaids, and practiced smiling for the television camera every time she came up for air after flipping and twirling underwater.

The One and Only by Valerie Tripp

 

10 thoughts on “Maryellen’s Day at the Beach

  1. jackylina

    Yay! I finally read all of Maryellen’s books. I’m so glad you pushed me to read them because I loved them. A lot of the time I was reading I kept thinking, why hasn’t AG made this (like the jewelry box)? Perhaps they still will. And maybe they’ll come out with the camper…
    I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Oh, I’m so glad you fit Maryellen into your reading line up! She’s a little like I Love Lucy… A little nutty but you can’t help but love her. I admired the way she made Scooter a character in his own right!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

