The End O’ the Outlet Store….

IMG_7502

Brianna and I had one final farewell to the American Girl Outlet Store in Oshkosh, WI.  We were a little surprised to find that there really was just about nothing in the store!  We managed to come up with a purchase of two pairs of Rebecca’s stage shoes, a red doll AG store logo tee, and two fuzzy, rib knit “Believe” Christmas stockings for girls, which were .70 cents each.

Reader Annaliese wrote a comment that she had visited the outlet recently and talked to employees about options being considered for reselling retired and refurbished items once the outlet store closes.  She said, “They didnโ€™t say if any of them are truly confirmed, but each interesting:
1. Going to 2 sales a year in Wilmot, WI
2. Having a larger sale section online
3. Having the merchandise at the Mattel Outlet” (open in Wilmot WI every day)

Annaliese, I appreciate your writing in and getting some “scoop!”

My guess is that all three option could come to pass.  We have already heard from Wilmot sale staff that there could be a sale in fall.  We have also seen random items for sale a la carte on the American Girl web site, such at Kit’s brown shoes.

The Mattel Outlet has several locations.  The one we have visited in Wilmot had a lot of Barbie dolls, as well as all the other Mattel products, such as toy cars, baby toys, and outdoor play items.  It is open every day just like any other store.

Outlet store…. You were fun while you lasted!  We made a lot of memories stopping there with Grandma, and let us not forgot the time I drove 60 miles to the outlet to get pre-BeForever Julie and then drove right back home!!

 

 

12 thoughts on “The End O’ the Outlet Store….

  1. Abby

    That’s sad :(. Osh Kosh is too far for me to travel, but double the sales at Wilmot would be great, as well as a permanent shop at the Mattel outlet!
    (Bad for my wallet though ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Would AG announce it again on Facebook?
    Thank you!
    If there is another Wilmot sale I will try and give you another list of the items like I did in the spring ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  2. Abby

    On another note-
    Did you end up going to the MCM sale?
    I wish I could have gone :(. Dolls and the outfits seem like such a great deal!
    -Abby

    Like

    Reply
  3. Flo

    So sad. But I am hopeful that this means more online opportunities for those of us who don’t live close. Bummer that they had nothing of much interest when you went.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Ydalis

    I have plans to stop by on our way to Door County on Wednesday. It would be my first time going to this outlet with my daughter. My husband isn’t thrilled because it is a little out of the way. What do all of you think, go or skip it?
    Also, we went to the benefit sale on Sat 11:45am and bought blonde and red hair dolls since last year (1st time going) by the time we got in on Sunday they only had brunettes. Wider selection but $22 cheaper on Sunday ๐Ÿ˜

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Hi Ydalis!
      Please do call because the Outlet was going to close on July 27… Which I think is Wednesday. If you call I am sure the ladies can tell you if there is anything for sale. Enjoy Door County!
      Sounds like you had a good MCM visit. I have never gone on Sunday.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Ydalis

    Thanks for the tip. I did call and it sounded like they’re very busy. They said not much left but they do have dolls at $50. I wonder which ones? I wanted to ask but she seemed in a rush to hang up. I will call again the day before as they do close on the 27th as you said ๐Ÿ˜ก

    Like

    Reply
  6. Ydalis

    Thanks for the tip. I did call and it sounded like they’re very busy. They said not much left but they do have dolls at $50. I wonder which ones? I wanted to ask but she seemed in a rush to hang up. I will call again the day before as they do close on the 27th as you said

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

