The Land of Waterfalls and “Yoopers”

By Julie

What is this amazing place, so far north?  We are in Munising, Michigan–the “Upper Peninsula” of Michigan, and our house is right on Lake Superior!  I snapped a quick selfie on our beach… Can you see Lake Superior behind me?


This area was once the home of the Anishinaabe people (or Ojibwa).  I read all about their culture in “The Birchbark House” by Louise Erdrich.  Many French traders also came here, so there is a French influence in the names of cities like Grand Marais.  

The first night I slept so soundly in my log cabin room with Lake Superior’s waves lapping outside the window.

I woke to a beautiful sunrise.  I couldn’t wait to see everything!

The area is famous for waterfalls… There are even some as you drive along the highway.  Here is a waterfall we saw that flows into Lake Superior.


The water in Lake Superior is so clear and very cold.  You can see shipwrecks in the water right from the side of a boat!

This is the hull of a ship about 10 feet below the surface of the water.

Everywhere you go you hear about “Yoopers.”  I thought it sounded like the name of a candy bar!  “Yooper” is a term for a person who lives in the Upper Peninsula …”U.P.”

Marquette is a university town nearby, and it has its own history between fur trading, Native Americans, iron ore, and shipping.  We went to a museum in Marquette and saw a trunk that could have belonged to American Girl Kirsten.


This belonged to Sofia Larsson who came to Negaunee, Michigan from Sweden.

At nighttime we had a campfire and enjoyed the amazing sunset over Lake Superior.


This city slicker is ready to head home to some sushi, the public library, and all my sisters at home.  Lanie would love this place!

IMG_7658Bye for now!

Jules 

P.S. You can rent a Lake Superior House too!

14 thoughts on “The Land of Waterfalls and “Yoopers”

    1. Jen Post author

      Hi Flo, we are home. Feels kinda good to be home after Brianna roped us into a 7 mile canoe expedition which was followed by an outbreak of swimmer’s itch! We had our fill of nature!

      Like

      Reply
  1. grammagump

    Wow, Jules, you were so lucky to be able to go on that trip! It was so interesting and you learned quite a lot. Your cabin site was amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Emma (Wack-A-Doodle-Dolls)

    Your vacation sounds like so much fun! And that ship underneath the water? So cool!! 😀 Awesome pictures! 🙂
    -Emma-

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. jackylina

    Oh, man, I got swimmer’s itch last year and it was NOT FUN! I feel your pain. I hope you were able to take something quickly to get rid of the itchies. I had red sores on my body that wouldn’t go away for a week.
    I loved that waterfall photo.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thanks! The waterfalls are abundant in the UP. DH and DD look horrendous. I don’t have it as bad because I wasn’t in the water as much. I’m afraid to take Brianna to the city pool this week… People will think she has chicken pox!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Xyra

    That trunk is beautiful! Absolutely could have belonged to Kirsten – even has the right last name (sort of). Look like a great trip. The shipwrecks are so very sad.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      What’s crazy is that shipwrecks keep being discovered! By random people no less. Someone was on a tour boat not far from shore and spotted a wreck no one had ever seen. The cold water, low oxygen, and lack of zebra mussels keep things pristine underwater. The wood is barely rotten.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Jennifer Spader

    I’m a big fan of dolls and the only thing that I want for Julie is the star shirt and the Pink shorts and I would like the same thing for Grace! I’m also in love with Lea Clark because I want her for Christmas before she retires! I want to make this the best Christmas so that I can add her to my collection!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

