Welcome to Rio – 2016

Greetings sports fans!  We cut in to your regularly scheduled program to show you the Olympic Athletes beginning to line up for the Parade of Nations.  Lea Clark will be carrying the Olympic flag this evening, representing independent athletes and bringing awareness to the plight of refugees.

IMG_7703In a break from tradition, the athletes tonight are lining up in the Brazilian forest, currently home to 20,000 species of plants, and 8% of the plants on Earth!

IMG_7705We’re sending you back to the studio now.  Should be a terrific show tonight!


Lea is temporarily bunking down at our house while her owner is at summer camp.  She is wearing McKenna’s warm up outfit, but I think it fits the spirit of Brazil. We are excited to watch the opening ceremony tonight!  The real flagbearer for the refugee Olympic team will be a woman who is a refugee from South Sudan.  Will you be watching tonight?

This post is dedicated to blog reader Jennifer who is hoping to have Lea join her doll family this year.

11 thoughts on “Welcome to Rio – 2016

    1. Jen Post author

      That was pretty neat. I’m glad he has been able to turn his life around. I read that the football player Ray Lewis reached out to him during his dark days.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Jennifer Spader

    I am extremely excited to get Lea Clark for Christmas because I wanna take care of her so that she needs a lot of love by being with my other doll friends! I would also like a pair of pajamas for Grace in Pink which is the Lovely Leopard print one that has a sweater and a pair of light Gray shorts with animal prints on it!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Jennifer Spader

        I definitely agree with you Jen! I just wish that Lea Clark would be the best Christmas present so that I can take care of her by making sure that she needs a lot of love so that I can add her to my collection because she reminds me of Rebecca Rubin’s twin sister! I just want her so bad for Christmas because she’s such a beautiful doll!

        Like

  2. grammagump

    Didn’t get to watch the Opening Ceremonies but heard about the special refuge team and was able to see a clip of their entrance into the arena. Super!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Molly is a great doll. Brianna was going to get her as her first AG at the AG store, but they sold her out before she retired 😭. She ended up with Saige and life went on.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jennifer Spader

    The reason why I’m getting Lea Clark for Christmas is because she has the same color hair as me! I really want to sleep with her and take care of her every single day so that she can be with her other doll friends that are standing on my dresser at home! I really like the new girl of the year for 2016 because Lea Clark means a lot to me and I want this to be the best Christmas present before she retires! Is there a way if I could get pajamas for her and a couple of clothes that’s from her collection? I just don’t want this to be a sad day on Christmas because Grace wants to meet Lea Clark!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Grace’s pajamas are likely on eBay, but another possibility is that there may be a fall American Girl sale in Wilmot, WI (west of Kenosha). I will definitely let you know if they hold a sale.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

