Lea’s Collection Coming to…. Kohl’s??

We heard last week that select TrulyMe dolls, Wellie Wishers, and TM items would appear at some Toys R Us locations… Now it looks like Girl of the Year items are headed to Kohl’s for the holiday season according to Forbes http://www.forbes.com/sites/retailwire/2016/09/08/american-girl-exclusive-no-longer-will-be-sold-in-toy-r-us/#7ecffe117efc

They don’t divulge whether Kohl’s locations will sell the doll.  Seems possible given all the Caroline and Isabelle dolls that were overstocks.

Meanwhile, Kohl’s KSS -2.63% will carry merchandise related to its girl of the year doll, Lea, this holiday season, it was announced Thursday.

Your thoughts?  I think it’s good for sales, but for me, American Girl represents special times, not a run to the local mall.  We usually buy at Christmas and sometimes birthdays, so that makes the brand “special” to me.  I could make Christmas cookies anytime, but doing it once a year makes it something I “wait for” and I like that about American Girl as well.  

Ps… I may recant when I see Kohls coupons + American Girl 😜

13 thoughts on “Lea’s Collection Coming to…. Kohl’s??

  1. jackylina

    I’m super excited. I have a whole bunch of Kohl’s gift cards from Christmas that I haven’t used yet. It will be a whole lot more convenient for people to by AG and I think people who don’t live close to a store will be thrilled by this news.
    Going to the AG store will still be special even thought they are expanding. There won’t be any doll hospitals, salons, or cafe’s at any of these stores.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Your Lea is doing a happy dance hearing about those Kohl’s gift certificates!! If shipping weren’t so high I would be more tempted to order from AG now and then.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. jackylina

        She definitely is! I don’t get why AG charges shipping on everything. So many stores have free shipping when you spend a select amount. And with sales tax on top of that, AG is loosing a lot of sales.

        Like

  2. Jaclynn

    I’m not completely sure how I feel about it. I agree with you about specialness. I feel like it cheapens the doll in a way – cause seriously – if you can buy an AMERICAN GIRL DOLL at KOHLS – that just seems wrong. Especially since the toy sections are usually disgusting and they don’t have good toys there anyway. At least from what I last saw πŸ˜‰ But honestly – I can just see a trashed up toy aisle at Kohls with these beautiful AG dolls opened and their boxes smashed… It’s kinda painful to think about.
    But I mean, it will branch out to more people and if AG thinks it’s a good move, then fine. I just personally don’t really like it πŸ˜‰
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I understand. Our Kohls has the toys with the little kid underwear… And there’s a lot of dented Barbie boxes and toys related to whatever movie is out. Merchandising is not their strong suit, at least where we live.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Flo

    I’m not so sure about the Kohl’s move at all, Toys R Us seemed like a much more natural fit. Those stores seem to be much better run overall. And I agree with the whole issue of toys being abused, merchandising poor, etc. I am not a big fan of Kohl’s for that reason overall. I have one 5 minutes from my house and I barely set foot in it. The Toys R Us venture seems to be much more controlled by AG where this–as Jerry Seinfeld would say, “has disaster written all over it”. It will be interesting to see what happens.

    I thought it was of particular interest to see in that article that Truly Me is not doing well. That is the first time I’ve seen any mention of that. Perhaps it’s time to scale back that line and go back to their roots if that’s the case!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      One thing that really stood out in the Complete Visual Guide is how rapidly they went from dolls every few years to rapid fire dolls, expensive bakeries and huts, plus Truly Me in the mix. Amazingly Addy was 1993 and Josefina 1997 with no other historicals in between. Mattel made more products possible for sure.
      Now they have a lot of product to move and they seem to want to unload it anywhere. Today at Barnes I saw AG mini figures that weren’t based on GOTY characters.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Flo

        That’s very interesting! I know when I got back into AG a couple of years ago, I was overwhelmed with all of the items available, particularly in the Truly Me line. Then they did some massive clearance sales and I thought “oh good, they are getting things under control”, but now we are back where we started!

        Mini figures–like the mini historical/GOTY dolls? We’re they mini Truly Me or something else?

        Like

Leave a Reply

