Free to Be . . .

Julie – “Cue the banjo music!”

noexif_IMG_6170_private

There’s a land that I see where the children are free

And I say it ain’t far to this land from where we are

Take my hand, come with me, where the children are free

Come with me, take my hand, and we’ll live . . .

IMG_7836In a land where the river runs free

Isabelle Roses

In a land through the green country

In a land to a shining sea

img_7619-1

And you and me are free to be you and me

Every boy in this land grows to be his own man

In this land, every girl grows to be her own woman

IMG_6206

Take my hand, come with me where the children are free

noexif_IMG_5498_private

Come with me, take my hand, and we’ll run

Josefina Mold

To a land where the river runs free

To a land through the green country

To a land to a shining sea

To a land where the horses run free

To a land where the children are free

And you and me are free to be you and me

IMG_7694

Lyrics excerpted from “Free to be . . .You and Me” by Bruce Hart

12 thoughts on “Free to Be . . .

    1. Jen Post author

      This post was inspired by my friend who said in response to some local and of course national conflict, “Where are our folk singers?!” I had forgotten that even Michael Jackson sang on this album as a kid.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Sharry

    ROTFL! Well you know how much of a 70s chick I am, and you gotta know that I’m also a pre-school teacher, and my kids learned this song (all verses) for graduation last year. (and did a darn good job too!) I have the record, CD, book and TV special. It’s one of my Julie’s favorites!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I’m glad this music lives on! So many terrific messages about loving our fellow humans and celebrating our uniqueness. Mr. Rogers, too.
      Thanks for clarifying about MJ… interesting how often his path crossed with DIana Ross.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

