Madison Doll Sale 2017 – Details

Now is the time to begin thinking about whether you will attend the Madison Children’s Museum (MCM) Benefit Doll Sale in Middleton (Madison area), Wisconsin.

This year’s sale is Saturday, July 22, 2017.  Advanced tickets are required ($8.00 each) and can be requested by mail, to be postmarked no earlier than May 3 (that means don’t mail it until May 3 or after).  Ticket information and forms are here.

Tickets are mailed back to you with an entrance time from 7:00 am to 3:00 pm.

This year the sale will include WellieWishers and Melody (interesting…).  They sell returned and overstock dolls.  Past years have seen copious amounts of the prior year’s GOTY.  I wonder what effect Lea being sold at Kohl’s for the holiday season will have on her availability at the MCM sale. In the recent past the sale has included Bitty Babies, mini dolls, many choices of JLY/Truly Me dolls, and returned or phased out BeForever dolls.  You can read about our MCM trip in 2015 here.

Sale prices and anticipated merchandise will be announced in June.  Generally previous GOTY dolls are sold for around $120, historicals for around $ 85.00, and TrulyMe about $55.00. There are limits on some items (like historicals) depending on availability.

Usually they have books and activity kits, and a small amount of clothes.  They have not generally had things like doll furniture.

The warehouse is very crowded and kids under 3 are not allowed.  I recommend the sale to people with kids who are at least in 1st grade.  It’s just not that fun for a little person to be packed in with so many people.  No strollers are allowed.  It is also not fun for a husband to be packed in with so many people.  Mr. DollsBetweenUs enjoys a lovely day in Madison on his own when we hit the sale.  The mood in the warehouse is civil though.  It is not like those Black Friday news clips!

One of the neatest things about the sale is the doll craft items in tents outside the warehouse (no ticket required for this).  It’s fun to talk with the vendors and see all of their creations.

We plan to attend the sale this year because it is the 30th Anniversary.  This is likely to be our last hurrah.  We have hit the point where our doll family is pretty full and we are selective about what comes in.  I hope to find a doll that I can donate to our church for the Christmas auction.  I am also in the hunt for JLY 41, who looks like Ruthie.  I don’t know what goals Brianna has for the sale other than to have a good time!  Recent quality control issues with soft vinyl, face paint, and lumpy bums make me think that the merchandise at the sale may not be what the AG enthusiast is looking for in coming years.

The sale benefits the Madison Children’s Museum and “American Girl’s Fund for Children.”

Are any readers planning to request tickets?

 

 

12 thoughts on “Madison Doll Sale 2017 – Details

  1. Gretchen Houle

    I went to the sale last summer. I was shocked at how rude people were. It’s worse than any black sale I have ever been too. The mobs of women pushing and shoving, kids running around grabbing things. I think the worst part was how nasty the teenagers were to the elderly ladies working there.
    They were standing at the entrance arguring with the ladies, to let them in early.
    I was in a wheel chair and no one let me go by, I even had a doll snatched from me.
    I don’t think kids should be allowed in there at all.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Gretchen that’s just terrible! What time was your entry (roughly)? I went two years ago BUT my entry was 7:15 or 7:30. I can imagine as the day goes on it gets more and more crowded, and they can start to delay entry to those waiting making people more and more antsy.
      That’s definitely disturbing to hear.

      Like

      Reply
    2. LeAnn Price

      I was their at 7:15 and in a wheel chair with my daughter in a boot and everyone was very nice. I did not have any problems at all. The workers were very helpful.
      LeAnn

      Like

      Reply
      1. Jen Post author

        Thanks LeAnn. I wonder if it gets a bit more overcrowded and desperate as it hits mid morning. I sent my ticket request in. Fingers crossed for an early time!

        Like

    1. Jen Post author

      Nothing yet! Makes me wonder what they’re up to. I inquired maybe last week and they had no date to share. When I know I’ll post for sure

      Like

      Reply
  2. AGAlways

    I’m excited for your report if you get to go to the benefit sale!! Sounds so cool and I wish I could go. I’m also wondering about the Wilmot sale.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thanks. We requested tickets for the MCM sale, and now, fingers crossed for a good time. I have heard rumors of no Wilmot sale on Facebook where someone said someone working in the Mattel shop didn’t think there would be one. Of course, everything AG is hard to predict these days but I’m keeping ear to the ground and will post ASAP if I hear something

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

