American Girl Summer Update

Hi All, today Brianna and I are coming to you from our local coffeeshop.  It’s a muggy day here and threatening rain, so how better to pass some time than studying American Girl’s new summer releases!  Thanks to Heather for tipping us off to the new release date!

All photos are from the American Girl website.

Our first item is the ombre sunglasses.

B: I really like the ombre sunglasses, and if they made them for girls I would totally buy them. I think the yellow, orange, and pink color scheme is really nice, as well.

J:I like these too.  Nice price, easy to say “yes” to.  I would like to see them on Julie.

Our second item is the Starry Doll Holder.

B: I think that this item is very useful but I think the price is a little high.

J: Doll storage is always an issue!  These are easier for small kids to use than doll stands.  A good product but not one we would purchase.

 

Our next item is the new Coconut Graphic Tee.

B: I love this item! They also have it for girls and I would definitely wear it. I like how the graphic image is easy to see.

J:LOVE this.  If there were free shipping it would be on its way to me right now.  Definite win.

 

Our next item is the new School Lunch Set.

B: This item is okay. It’s a neat new item that AG thought of but it’s not something I need. AG also has a new Doodle Backpack Set. I already have the old one and I prefer it to this new one.

J: The school lunch tacos tug at my heartstrings a bit.  If you have the other school lunch tray, it would be hard to spend the money on this one because it is as rehash of an prior product.  Same with the locker.

 

Our next item is the Pet Bath Outfit.

B: This item is awesome! It’s so adorable once you put it on the pet. I definitely would want this!

J: The terrycloth is a nice fabric.  All of the pet offerings seem nicely designed.  Do any readers have Grace’s dog Bonbon?  Could this dog be the same pattern or does the new French bulldog seem substantially different?

Our next item is Grand Hotel Food Set.

B: I think this item is really neat. I like the daisies and the orange juice. The menu is neat as well. Does anyone else think that the waffle looks like a pizza slice though?

J:One word:  salt and pepper shakers.  OK, that is more than one word.  Love them!  They look exactly like what you would see in a fine hotel.  Not sure about the pink vase.  I would rather see something that looks like crystal.

Our next item is the Grand Hotel.

B: I like the grand hotel because of the reversible sides. There is a lot of detail as well, which I really enjoy. The window scenes also are interchangeable to show day and night. What confuses me a bit is that the day scene is on a beach and the night scene is in the city.

J: I applaud AG for giving us a truly new item.  It’s not a bakery/juice hut!  This item has the glass vase that I was hoping for on the room service tray.  This item is HUGE!  I recommend watching the designer’s video on the AG website.  A lot of thought went into this unique item — not unlike Maryellen’s diner.  At $275, no it won’t be coming home to our house.

Clothing 

B: I love the corduroy dress! The ankle boots are like Grace’s just a different color. I think this outfit is really nice!

J: Terrific print and I like the contrast trim.  Corduroy?  With short sleeves?  Have you ever seen a corduroy summer dress?  There must have been a sale on corduroy.

B: I don’t really like this outfit. I think a younger girl (3rd grade or so?) would enjoy this outfit but for an older girl not really. The pieces don’t match as well as I would like them to.

J: Pass.  This is an outfit made from about .40 cents worth of fabric.

B: I don’t really like the top or bottoms separately but together is even worse. The moccasins are cute though!

J: I am at a loss for words.

B: I think the top is awesome! But the shorts are horrific, especially with the purple tights. Anybody who wears that to school is most likely going to get teased.

J: Pretty doll and pretty top. The shorts remind me of the pattern on chef’s pants.  I feel the clothing selections are saying “I’m a edgy fashionable teenager” except I haven’t really seen any girls dress this way.

B: White tulle skirt, pink knit sweater, turquoise moccasins? THESE DO NOT GO TOGETHER!

J: Skirt could be a big seller with kids.  They need to get something different on top to sell this outfit.  This outfit is trying to cross summer with fall – it might work in fashion “early fall collection” but kids hitting AG on vacation this summer aren’t likely looking to buy a chunky sweater.

That is most of the items in the new release. The Truly Me’s also got a new outfit in this release. Gabriela got McKenna’s loft bed.  Jen: I am a little sad that there wasn’t anything for the historical this go-around, but they did get quite a few outfits in the spring release.

We hope you enjoyed this post and would love to hear your thoughts on the new items.  Anything you will have on your wish-list?

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “American Girl Summer Update

  1. AGAlways

    I’m liking the corduroy dress, but material seems odd. Otherwise, pretty disappointed in where AG is going with these new outfits. Super cheap looking and nothing matches ! Accessories are cute, but way too expensive. The new suitcase is super cute, but is all plastic. I wish I could have picked up Grace’s suitcase.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      The outfits seem pretty far from anything their target market would wear, and they’re not aspirational either… like dressing up in a fancy dress or as some type of athlete. I don’t really follow Barbie, but I wonder how these outfits compare with her current fashions.

      Like

      Reply
  2. jackylina

    Thankfully there is nothing even making it close to my wishlist which is great cause I can continue saving for Nanea and all her stuff! What in the world is with these outfits!? If they made them mix and matchable it would be so much better, but, like Brianna was saying, who in the world put some of these together!?? shakes head. no clue.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Jen Post author

        We did have fun, and we pledged to not look at the items online until we got to the coffeeshop. It’s much cheaper to be critical!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jackylina

        Definitely. Are they even giving catalogs out anymore? I haven’t been to the store in a long while, nor have I gotten a catalog and I can’t even find a request a catalog button on their site. I was going to try and sign up and see if I can get one now that they’ve changed things.

        Like

      3. Jen Post author

        I saw someone asked that question on Facebook and they did indicate that catalogs were being mailed. You definitely want to get in the queue for a catalog with Nanea on the horizon!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Jen Post author

      See, they’re doing you a favor! I would love to get to TrU at least to see some of these items in person. The pictures on LADL didn’t convince me to change my opinion. I don’t like the fact that so much of Grace’s stuff is getting an update and resold… the boots, the dog, the luggage, the shorts with the black and white check pattern…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. jackylina

        Yes, and what’s with that raincoat/sundress? HOW MANY TIMES HAVE THEY REDONE THAT!!! Oh my gosh! I’m getting so sick of it!! hahaha! I’m waiting for Coconut to get one!

        Like

  3. Flo

    I never thought of it, but those ombre sunglasses ARE perfect for Julie! You must get them.

    I ordered the hamster set, I was super excited to see that come back from McKenna’s set. And I am in love with the Grand Hotel stuff, it is so cute and the room is so well thought out. I’m just trying to decide if I would get enough use out of it to spend that kind of money. And I think what at first glance looks like a pizza shaped waffle is actually bacon! I thought the same thing you did at first glance, but if you enlarge it, you can see it much better.

    And I’m with everyone so far–what is with the clothing??? Nothing is “mix and match”. The combinations that they show are dreadful!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you for the encouragement on the sunglasses. I’ll see what I can do 😉

      Oh the hamster set will be terrific in one of your doll’s rooms. I look for way to all of the details. Better tell you mail carrier you also answer to Shannon.

      You’re absolutely right about the bacon.

      That green sweater and maroon pants is going to be around a long time.

      Like

      Reply
  4. LEE

    I really enjoyed that post and I bet you both had fun with the critique. Made me laugh a few times! I will have one of those grand hotels and a pair of turquoise moccasins!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I’m glad you love the release… I want to company to improve their sales! I hope to get to TrU next week and see some of them in person.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Message In A Fold

    I enjoyed this post! You and your daughter are great together. This made me feel as though I were at the table with the pair of you going through the catalogue. LOL Total delight.
    Leslie

    Like

    Reply
  6. Xyra & Melody

    Of your choices, I have the graphic tee and room service tray on my wish list. 🙂 I also want the little hamster.

    I know what you mean about the corduroy dress. Not summery at all. Perhaps if you live in Alaska or one of the northern states that get snow in July. I’m thinking it is more of a back to school dress. It is cute.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I guess we got the summer wear in spring, and we are bridging to fall now…
      I always find I get a lot of use out of those t-shirts, so I know if I pick it up someday it will be in strong rotation.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

