Make Room, Girls!

What better time to add a doll to the family than 48 hours before the American Girl Benefit doll sale?!

I’ll give you a few easy clues…

IMG_0267

There are braids….

IMG_0268And lovely gray eyes and cheeks with a subtle blush…

IMG_0270

It’s Pleasant Company Molly!

Molly comes from my sister-in-law, who bought her at the Madison Museum sale about 16 years ago.  Molly has been in a box ever since.  She is in terrific shape but will need to be restrung very soon because her legs are dangling.  I don’t mind investing the money in  this high quality doll and will send her to the doll hospital this summer before school starts up and life gets busier.

After spending 16 years in a sweater and a wool skirt (in the southern US, no less!) I thought Molly might want to get into something a little breezier for the summer.

IMG_0272

She is lounging in our sunroom in Maryellen’s summer PJs.

IMG_0271

Molly was the first doll Brianna wanted back in 2nd grade, because she also wears glasses.  We were all set to take our first trip to AGP-Chicago to get Molly, and Molly was retired about 2 days before our trip.  Crushing!  She ended up with Saige instead and life went on.

At first we were going to pass on Molly (no room at the inn!!), but my sis-in-law really wanted her to come to live with us, and after she sent pictures, that sealed the deal.  It’s kind of like people who “just look” at cats or dogs on the Humane Society website and find themselves unable to say no to another fluffy friend.

We couldn’t be happier she is here!

 

29 thoughts on “Make Room, Girls!

    1. Jen Post author

      That’s neat that she is your favorite doll. I’m hard pressed to say which one is my favorite though Maryellen is my favorite “character”. Sometimes I ponder “if I could only have one…” and never come to any conclusion!

      Like

      Reply
  1. AGAlways

    Congrats!! That’s awesome you got Molly!! She is such a beautiful doll and yours is very well kept! I’m still looking for a Molly to call my own as she’s my favorite AG doll!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I think my sister in law was either going to give it to her daughter, who didn’t care for the historicals, or eBay her. In the end, she did neither to our benefit. Our Josefina also came to us from her and is a very early Josefina.
      I hope your Molly shows up soon!

      Like

      Reply
  2. grammagump

    We love the post, Jen! Great photos too. Have a wonderful time at the sale! Barb

    On Thu, Jul 20, 2017 at 9:53 PM The Dolls Between Us wrote:

    > Jen posted: “What better time to add a doll to the family than 48 hours > before the American Girl Benefit doll sale?! I’ll give you a few easy > clues… There are braids…. And lovely gray eyes and cheeks with a subtle > blush… It’s Pleasant Company Molly! Mol” >

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you! We are enjoying her and grateful she was able to stowaway. Hooray for visits that don’t require too many changes of clothes and shoes!!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Annaliese

    Congratulations! Makes me feel better that I just added a Pre Beforever Addy to the collection this week before the sale. But who can pass up Addy in full meet (minus blue ribbon) for $40?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Wow, a fantastic deal! What choice was there but to get her?! Though her new meet is very pretty, I prefer her original meet outfit because I associate it with her book and the amazing feeling of receiving a dress as she journeyed north.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I tried that at the time (she’s a pre-teen now) but she said the other dolls didn’t NEED glasses! I guess when you need glasses you don’t think highly of those who wear them for fashion 😉

      Like

      Reply
  4. Laura Beth

    I have always loved Molly. I wanted her for my first 18-inch, but at that time (1996-1997), I couldn’t braid hair. I was terrified that I wouldn’t be able to learn and be able to style her! At Christmas in 1997, I ended up with my AGOT Stephanie, who I still have! In 2013, shortly after I learned she was going to be archived, I took the plunge and bought with my own money while living on my own. I was so thrilled – I cried a little when she arrived. Enjoy yours – She is beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you! I’m glad you got your Molly, too. I still wish I could get Addy into her pre BF hairstyle but it’s tough!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you Xyra! We’re really happy to have her. I know I would not want to wear a sweater and wool
      Skirt for 16 years!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Sharry

    Hi Jen!

    Congrats on Molly, she looks great! But you might wanna reconsider the AG doll hospital to get her fixed, since Pleasant Co. used cups and ferrels, and now AG just uses knotted elastic to fix the dolls now. There are plenty of online doll supply shops that sell the kit. You can even find some on Ebay. Good luck.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you Sharry!! That never really dawned on me though I have heard about the differences between PC and Mattel. I may watch a YouTube and see if my handy mother and I can make it work.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you for the tip about Molly’s braids. I can imagine after 16+ years that would be some very kinky hair! We plan to keep her hair as is. Brianna was disappointed that I didn’t find anything for myself at the doll sale, but when you have a new to you PC Molly,,how much more could you ask for?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Xyra & Melody

        She’s right. My Kaya and Kirsten had lovely braids. Unfortunately, my one friend was testing the ize of a pullover sweater for Kirsten and pulled one of the loops down. I fixed it, but not as well as out of the box. then I started blogging and both have been re-braided several times. Kaya’s ends haven’t been straight across since and I used the very same separations (easy to do because of the waves). Kirsten’s ends are better, but the loops…

        Like

      2. Jen Post author

        That’s how I feel about Josefina, too. We have rebraided her hair without changing the sections… but the ends aren’t the same. I’ve wanted Kirsten for a long time but I do think she will cause braid anxiety!

        Like

      3. Xyra

        I ended up watching a tutorial on YouTube to try and get the loop back. It really helped. Just can’t get the ribbons tied tight enough.

        Like

    1. Jen Post author

      Thank you! We are really enjoying her. I think we can’t wait too much longer to get her legs fixed. It would be too traumatizing to have them fall off 😬

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

