Confirmed: St Louis American Girl Sale

DBU Reader Carolyn shared this today:

I just spoke with a lady at the AG Warehouse in Wilmot. They will not be having a sale there this year (2017).

They will be having what they call a pop up sale in St. Louis at the Mall that the AG store is in but not at the store itself. The sale starts August 3rd and will run 10 days. No info on what will be there.

St. Louis readers-let me know what details you find out. I am traveling home from MCM today. If there is a sale and you attend, I'd love to share some of your photos on the blog!

It's hard to imagine a 10 day sale. Maybe it will be like the outlet store that used to exist in Oshkosh? AG just keeps us on our toes lately.
Confirmed: Sale is Aug 4. You can follow Facebook for more information

12 thoughts on “Confirmed: St Louis American Girl Sale

  1. Adrienne

    I can confirm this as I also spoke to someone from AG today. I can’t imagine what this sale will be like and would love to hear more information if anyone gets it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I did see on Facebook that this Mall has had bankruptcy filed on it, so perhaps it is an opportunity related to a potential closure of the mall? Pure speculation on my part.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Kiana

    Can you give more information about the Wilmot Warehouse in general? I can’t seem to find information on Google. Is it a clearance warehouse selling cheaper items like the Oshkosh outlet did? Or is it more like an AG Place store? I was under the impression it was not open to the public and was only used for the Wilmot Warehouse sale, but since it’s not happening this year how did someone talk to a worker there?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Good questions! The person called the Mattel outlet in Wilmot, WI. The Mattel outlet does not sell American Girl products but does have Barbie, etc. The Outlet is located maybe 20 yards from the warehouse that AG uses to ship items from. The Wilmot Warehouse sale was held in part of the warehouse and the Mattel store ladies were often helpful for clues about what was going on.
      The takeaway is that no warehouse sale happened this year, there’s no Outlet store anymore, and we are all very sad! Does that help?

      Like

      Reply
  3. Carolyn Dornbos

    When I called the warehouse I picked a promt I thought would have a person in the office, it worked. They have several people working at the warehouse.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      A+ sleuthing Carolyn! I assumed you called the outlet next door. I’m sorry your Christmas gift plans were spoiled by the absence of Wilmot sale 😦 I really miss the outlet store most of all.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Flo

    Very interesting! It would be nice to think that maybe they are going to do this at locations around the country at different times? While it sucks for those who got used to it in WI, it will be nice for people who live in areas that didn’t get that opportunity.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I agree it could be an interesting concept since they already have the pop up shop idea, and I assume summers are low revenue. I saw their Q2 rev came out and it was down 6%. The fact that this Mall maybe be undergoing some changes might be a good excuse to try something new. I hope we get some reports on it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I haven’t had anyone contact me with a first hand report. I did see they had the Truly Me dolls for 98.00, and I believe Caroline’s skiff for 44.00. The general impression I got,was that it would be worth going to if it were near you, but not quite as epic as the Wilmot sale was in the past.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Adrienne

        I attended the St. Louis pop up sale on the first day. It was a pleasant experience but not as epic as the Wilmot sale. Arrived 10 minutes before opening and had tickets number 92 and 93. The line went rather quickly. Some items the same as the Madison sale but prices were higher. Along with the Truly Me Dolls for $98, there were Samantha doll/gift sets and Bitty Baby w accesories for $98. One of the best buys was the scooter for $14. They were continually bringing more merchandise out. Wish I could have gone back on the last day as I feel there may have been more discounts.

        Like

      2. Jen Post author

        Thanks so much for the report, Adrienne. The scooter is a terrific deal! I really miss the Outlet store and all the fun odds and ends that would show up there. Granted, more things have been on the AG website lately.

        Like

Leave a Reply

