Amazon Matches AG Sale Prices

I keep a continual Amazon wish list and check pricing almost every day, particularly for good deals on books for my job. Last night I noticed some of the American Girl items on my wish list showed a 30% price reduction. These were mainly Beforever items that are concurrently on sale on the AG site right now, especially parts of Melody and Maryellen's collections. American Girl's sale is through 8/7… no guarantees on Amazon.

The conversation at my house this morning about 2 minutes after my husband got up:

"Honey, did you need any help with a birthday present for me?"

"Um, I haven't really… that would be great!"

I hopped on the computer and called out, "You don't have to get anything else! I'm all set."

Not only was shipping free with our Prime, but we had over 40.00 in rewards I could use (Amazon credit card is 5% cash back).

My package won't be arriving by the American Girl's pony express, Amazon didn't try to call my husband's account by a creative new first name, and the Amazon rewards process is straightforward and doesn't require any minimum purchases to use.

What did I order for my birthday next month? I can't tell you—it would ruin the surprise!

19 thoughts on “Amazon Matches AG Sale Prices

    1. Gloria

      Hi,
      I had no idea that Amazon matches AG Sale Prices. How can that be? Unfortunately, I placed my order already and had to pay $28.95 for shipping. However, I must give them credit for fast shipping as I got it in two days. I didn’t even know that Amazon sold AG items but when I am done typing, I am going to go and check it out. I don’t have a smart phone and am technically challenged, to say the least, but I would love to know how to match prices for future purchases, especially around Christmas as I have 6 granddaughters that I buy for.
      Thanks for the tips!

      Gloria

      Like

      Reply
      1. Jen Post author

        Hi Gloria! If you pay yearly for Amazon Prime (100.00/year) for have free shipping on most items Amazon sells themselves. American Girl sells items through Amazon and Amazon fulfills the purchase.
        So, because I have Prime, I could order Z Yang, get her in two days and have free shipping.
        This was the first time I noticed that some of the items on sale on the AG website were also on sale on the Amazon site, for example, Melody’s bed.
        Amazon doesn’t sell everything AG has, just, I imagine, what AG lets them.
        Prices on Amazon fluctuate a lot so I keep a wishlist and the list tells me what percent prices have dropped.

        Like

    1. Jen Post author

      Hi Nonna, hope all is well with you and yours. Amazon has the easy ecommerce platform that AG has lacked lately. It’s another option for those of us who don’t live close to a store or TRU.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Erin

    Hi Jen! New reader here–I just found your blog via a link on Living A Doll’s Life. Amazon offering American Girl items is great news! I have a variety of dolls in my collection, but no AGs yet so I’m highly tempted to go ahead and get Felicity (my favorite!) or even Melody. I can’t wait to see what you got!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thanks for visiting, Erin. There are many fun and friendly doll bloggers to meet on my blog friends page.
      I think Amazon is a great fit because they already sell everything, including high end brands. It was a little depressing to see the displays at Kohls because not every Kohls is so great at the toy merchandising.
      I have bought a number of items for Kit, Julie and Maryellen on AMZ over the last year. I always choose “sold by American Girl, fulfilled by Amazon” .
      Will you ever bring your blog back?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Erin

        Yes, my blog is still up….just operating under a new url: https://fairytaledollcrafts.blogspot.com. I agree, the fact that Amazon is selling brand name items now is great–especially when you can apply points to your purchase! I’m getting ready to build one of the “My Girl Dollhouses” and have some AG furniture pieces in mind that I’d like to get so I’ll be saving our points and keeping an eye out for sales!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura Beth

    I love this. I haven’t purchased much from American Girl directly in the last year. My go-to has always been Amazon. My husband and I both have Prime, and the two-day shipping is so convenient and helpful when we’re in a pinch for something (like cold brew coffee!).

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      We aren’t very close to a Target or Walmart, so Prime is worthwhile for us. While $100 is a lot, just stepping foot in a Target once can cost $100 and I save online by not being tempted in the store. In our extended family, if you want a Christmas gift it must be available on Amazon. No one wants to roam the malls at that time of year!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Flo

        Not only is the free shipping worth it in a situation like yours, but add to that the free video streaming, books and a few other perks and it’s definitely a good deal. If nothing else it’s a huge time saver. Like you, I’ve done almost all of my Christmas shopping the last few years there, I hate to have to go out and shop in the cold weather.

        Like

  3. Xyra

    I never thought Amazon would match. I’ve always found AG on Amazon to be more expensive than the AG site. Will have to adjust my thinking.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      It’s worth keeping some items n your wish list to see if there are price drops! I added a few Z items into my list to watch.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Xyra

        Sounds like a plan. We get more Amazon gift cards than I do AG ones, easier to get since you can pick them up at the grocery store.

        Like

Leave a Reply

