Introducing. . .Us!

The American Girl Create-Your-Own Doll launch inspired us to create dolls that look like us.  Now you can picture us over here typing away…

Jen

I chose the Jess face mold, though I am not Asian.  In the online program that choice looks the most, to me, like an adult face.  I have heard that this face mold has painted eye notches similar to Nanea… but I digress!

I chose the “Let’s Daydream” outfit, but honestly none of them are outfits that I would normally buy for myself or a doll.  Brianna detests this outfit!  I can’t say that I normally wear a flowered headband, but I did once wear a Rainbow Dash headband to the school I work at for Halloween, so maybe it isn’t that much of a stretch!

I chose the “Let’s Play” accessories because there is a doll Fitbit.  For “Personality” I chose reading and writing.

Brianna says I look better than this in real life, so I’m taking that as a compliment!

 

Brianna

I chose the Cecile face mold, because I think it looks a lot like a normal face of a 12 year old, like me. My best friend and I were both making ones that look like us and we both chose Cecile.

I chose the “Let’s Smile” outfit, because out of all 6 outfits it personally looks the best to me. I like the light blue jean jacket over the dress, because my everyday outfit tends to look like that.

I chose the “Let’s Smile” accessories as well, because they have what looks like a Starbucks drink in the accessories. For “Personality” I chose travel. It was really hard to decide which one to do. I like music & dancing, reading & writing, travel, and sports & games. For my “Favorite Place” I chose the mountains. It was either that or the lake or beach. Finally, for my “Pet Pal” I chose the dogs, though I like cats, and many of the other animals listed as well.

We would love to know what you “look like” too!

 

11 thoughts on “Introducing. . .Us!

    1. Jen Post author

      It’s pretty fun to build your own doll, but I’m really drawn to the characters in the books, so no doll for me. Brianna has enjoyed creating dolls that match characters in the stories she writes.

      Like

      Reply
  1. jackylina

    Cool! I just hate how AG’s simulation doesn’t make the doll look real. There’s something off about that Jess mold. It drives me nuts. And yeah, I always find it so hard to pick a face mold for myself!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I don’t know if you have spent much time on AGPT lately but people seem to be having trouble telling which mold is which with the CYO dolls. Someone posted that the molds are slightly different and it may be that these are the molds used for the wig less dolls?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Flo

    I agree with Heather, there is something weird in the simulation. There is a doll they show finished on their main page that looks a bit like a friend of mine from childhood, but when I try and recreate it, it doesn’t!! I’m still waiting for someone to get their doll and do a review.

    Hello to doll Jen and doll Brianna!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      The first few people on AGPT have gotten dolls are are posting the comparison between the simulation and actual. So far they seem pleased… have you seen the stamp on the foot with a star? I liked it and Brianna thought it was weird. I guess it is reminiscent of some teddy bear brands . . . LMK if you want a text of it.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Xyra

    Great dolls! They both look great!
    I’ve made a couple of the dolls, but haven’t done myself as an adult yet. Melody is me as a child, so I guess I’m done. It’s really hard to choose the personality traits because I do almost all of those in one way or another. ARGH! Same with the pets.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      It was interesting seeing the CYO dolls in person. They are definitely different. Less white in the eye, and the molds are not quite the same. It’s really hard to pinpoint but there is something there.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

