August Arrivals

Hi everyone! It’s Jen and Brianna coming to you from the local coffeeshop with our opinions on some of the new arrivals.

Our first item is Kaya’s Trading Dress and Accessories. You buy these items separately.

B: I like these items, because I think that they relate to a very important time for Kaya’s Tribe and the English that are exploring and trading with tribes like Kaya’s. The beading and stitching on Kaya’s dress is amazing, and the items in her Trading Accessories are very 1764ish.

J: I don’t know a lot about Kaya, but I am thrilled whenever a historical character gets new items.

 

Our second item is the new Kaya outfit for girls….

B: I think this outfit is beautiful. The dress and faux fur vest blends Kaya’s Time (1760’s) and modern times very well.

B: Rebecca’s Faux Fur Coat is amazing! I love the fur around the wrists and neck and the color on the coat is beautiful, though frankly I’m not sure if they could make the blue – purple color so vivid back in her time.

J: I’m not sure how this coat looks if you don’t have the same dress underneath.

J:  Kit’s new Christmas items – I’m pretty excited!  I don’t have a Christmas dress for Kit yet. We own Maryellen, Addy, and Julie’s holiday outfits.  I’m still weighing whether I would prefer the new or old Christmas dress for Kit.  I hope to see this outfit in Chicago soon and I can definitely see asking Santa for it!

B: Kit’s Christmas Dress is really nice, but my favorite thing is her stocking! It’s so adorable with the sock monkey inside of it!

J:  My pie and coffee are almost gone and we are just getting started!!

B: Maryellen’s new Rollerskating Outfit is really cute, but I don’t know how easy it would be to rollerskate in a dress, like that..

J: I think it is a great dress for Maryellen, and I would maybe think of it as a “party dress.”  Are those Caroline’s shoes recycled?  Hmmmm…  Addy would look phenomenal in this!

B: I LOVE THIS OUTFIT! I think it is so pretty, especially on Melody. Some of the fabrics remind me of Rebecca’s Beforever meet outfit…

J:  Melody looks very pretty but I would not buy this outfit.  I dislike turtlenecks, tight sweaters, and scratchy wool skirts.  I know my mother is laughing when she reads this because this was the source of much drama back in the 1970s when I was a kid.  Don’t even get me started on those fuzzy tights!  I don’t understand what these shoes are.  Maybe they are better in person?

B: I also love this outfit! Gabriela looks awesome in it. The silver shoes and turquoise dress are stunning together.

J: I’m glad Gabriela’s collection continues to grow.  Lovely color.  Reminds me a bit of a professional ice skating outfit.

 

B: I think this outfit is cute, but I can’t imagine a 13 year old wearing it.

J: I disagree!  Seattle!  Brianna and I are arguing about this right now!  I love this outfit and it my #1 pick from this release.  It could be coming home soon.  I am disappointed, though, that they gave Z’s dog the cute umbrella.  Hello?  Z needs the umbrella not her dog.  Tricky business there AG.

B: Z’s Media Set and Green Scene are amazing! It has everything you could need for making a doll movie! At my middle school, we have a G – I – G – A – N – T – I – C green screen that we use to make our Middle School News Show.

J: I can’t wait to see the doll community using this as a photo backdrop.

B: I love this outfit! It’s very Western, and the boots remind me a lot of Saige’s Meet Outfit boots. The belt around the tunic is very fashionable too!

J: I like this and think it will sell well.  I’m still trying to determine whether the white fabric is sheer? After Gabriela’s see through performance skirt I’m keeping watch.

B: I don’t like the capelet or the skirt but I think the shirt and golden flats are so cute! It’s definitely not AG’s best outfit, though.

J: Here we thought the t-shirt would be for Luciana – the possible 2018 Girl of the Year.  AG surprised us on that leak.  The capelet.  That houndstooth pattern is huge in doll-scale.  I’m Ok with the rest of the outfit, but the overall look is just too strange for me.  Brianna says I should let out my “true feelings” on this outfit.  There’s one doozy in every release, and this one is it!

Top Picks

B: My top pick is two outfits actually … Gabriela’s Party Dress and the Western Chambray outfit. Melody’s Birthday Dress is the runner – up.

J:  Z’s rainy day outfit and Kit’s Christmas dress.  Santa?  Do you follow this blog?

We look forward to hearing your thoughts on this AG release.  We will talk more about Nanea in a future post.

17 thoughts on “August Arrivals

  1. MERmade9

    Great critiquing!!! 😉 Looks like you two have great fun together, which makes me long for my DD to be younger again – they truly do grow up way too fast!
    Hadn’t really checked into these too much since we ‘spent our wad’ on vacation and new appliances since we returned, so nice to see them altogether here. I’m really liking Kit’s new Christmas dress myself! Hope Santa reads this – pretty sure he’s a follower already! 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I think there are some nice things in this release, and Kit’s new dress has that historical feel… even the tones of the green and red. I forgot to write that I don’t like the clear plastic AG disk being sewn onto the historical clothing. It doesn’t belong there!
      I just started reading Nanea’s new book today. She’s in 3rd grade and her dad is a redhead!

      Like

      Reply
  2. dolliegirl84

    I can’t wait to get my hands on Z’s media set, so cool!!! I also am in love with Melody’s new birthday outfit. And Rebecca’s clothes really make me want to invest and bring Rebecca home! So many decisions….hmmmm…must start making my birthday list!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I have really been enjoying Rebecca–she is terrific historical or modern and takes great pictures! Usually when there is a release I enjoy it but know I probably won’t pick anything up. I didn’t have that feeling this time!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Have you watched any of the Z YouTubes? Between those and the book she is growing on me in a dangerous (to my wallet) way. I hope they keep her around for a while.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Flo

    I have to say that this release is one of the better ones we’ve had in a while. I want Maryellen’s skates, I remember friends having cases like that to carry them in. I need to make a list…

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Ooh, I’d love to see your list! The case for the roller skates is very neat. We also neglected to comment on the reindeer pajamas–like those a lot too. I’m wondering whether any Nanea items will be on your list…

      Like

      Reply
      1. Flo

        Oh definitely, Kanani wants her hula outfit. And her fishing set. And…the list goes on and on.

        Speaking of reindeer–I love the stuffed one they have out this time. I’m trying to figure out if it’s supposed to be a reindeer in the scale for the dolls, or just a plush toy in general?

        Like

      2. Jen Post author

        Kanani is going to be one lucky girl!
        I think the reindeer is child scale but I will check it out for you this weekend.
        Brianna just finished Nanea’s book and I am 3/4 through. Very good… doesn’t gloss over what was done by Americans to Americans.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. jackylina

    I totally agree with Flo. This is a very good release. I am SO excited about Kaya’s new dress! It’s about time AG!!!! I also love Z’s new outfit. Not so much a fan of Kit’s dress, I like the old one (the super old one with the scottie dog pin being a magnet you can take on and off) better. But I won’t be buying anything except Nanea stuff right now. I’ll wait until this stuff goes on a sale.

    SO fun to read your critiques!!! Hee! Laughed at Melody’s! I love the look but would never wear any of that myself either.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Melody… I like my dolls to be comfortable, which is why they rarely have tights or historical boots!
      Kit’s original dress is wonderful too…I feel like I really need to see it in person. It is a little like Addy’s, in the sense that Kit standing next to Addy would be a lot of plaid!
      This release was fun because a lot of items were a surprise, at least up until this week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Xyra

    Love, love, love your review of the release items. I’m thrilled Kaya is getting something, but am disappointed slightly in the trading dress. Reminds me a lot of her original deerskin outfit only in white like the one modern PowWow dress. Not sure if I will get it or not, definitely need the trading accessories though.

    Maybe Maryellen is roller skating to school where she would need to wear a skirt. We know from watching reruns of Father Knows Best and Ozzy and Harriet that little girls wore shorts when not in school or going to town with mom.

    Melody’s purple outfit. She’s definitely getting into the Mod culture here, but I agree about the shoes they are strange. My mom can’t do turtlenecks either. This one could really be for Melody or Julie (as you pointed out we wore similar in the 70s).

    Maybe the capelet outfit is a winning design from Project Runway Jr. It’s very runway chic and they go with extra large patterns on that show all the time.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I like the idea of the capelet outfit being from Project Runway Jr., and it would be great if they marketed something that way… you know… support tomorrow’s designers. The outfit could be from a kid who could be the next Karl Lagerfeld! That would fit nicely with AGs mission.
      We are going to examine those white shoes this weekend in person. Maybe they don’t photograph well 😬?
      Wow, I’d love to see the purple sweater outfit on Julie!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Xyra

        It really would.
        Looking forward to what you find out about the shoes.
        That would be fun! Julie gets a hand-me-don outfit from her older cousin. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

