Updates from Our Home Front

We got through the first week of school and I’m squeezing in a blog post.  That feels like an accomplishment!

We ended our summer with a trip to American Girl Chicago where we met our friend Heather, author of the blog Dollightful Dolls.  It was so fun to get to know Heather “IRL”. We even had the tea service, where we learned it may be wise to borrow a doll in the AG Cafe . . . the man clearing the dirty flatware almost dropped them on Elizabeth’s head!  I intended to get Julie’s ears pierced, but there was a whole birthday party-worth of dolls awaiting the service.  Brianna and I both picked up some outfits from the new release.

 

IMG_0702

Elizabeth, unaware of impending accident

 

 

IMG_0700

Heather’s Kanani, dressed up for the launch of Nanea.

So much news continues to come out of AG these days.  Kit will be appearing at Costco this holiday season in a package with a new red sweater.  Many people anticipate that she will be cubed (available only online and in flagship stores until she is gone), making way for the return of Molly.  Molly’s books are scheduled to be re-released Feb 19, 2018, so we can only speculate the doll will release at that time as well.

 

Are you excited for Molly’s re-release?  While I would prefer to have Kirsten return, I am hopeful that I may be able to purchase some items for the PC Molly I bought from my SIL.

I have many outfits and items to share with you in the months to come, but in the meanwhile, a great way to keep up with Dolls Between Us during the school year is on Instagram.  Follow us @dollsbetween.american.girl

I want to close with a few close-up pictures of Nanea that I took at AGP-Chicago.  I think these are two of the neatest items in her collection, and both play a role in book one of her story.

 

IMG_0696

A barrette only Nanea can wear

 

IMG_0695

 

13 thoughts on “Updates from Our Home Front

  1. Flo

    How fun that you and Heather got to meet up! I’m interested to see how they handle some of the archiving of dolls in the coming year or so. I don’t have interest in Molly, but in all honesty, other than a Create Your Own, I’m not interested in ANY dolls now. But I am glad to hear she may be coming back as I think she was a great character.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      I sure do hope they offer some items for Molly. I just can’t understand the release of Felicity with basically no clothing or play items. Especially since many a “Saige” has been called to active duty to pretend to be Felicity!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Gloria

    Hi,
    That is so very interesting. If they are rereleasing Molly’s books in February, it only makes sense that they would be ready to bring out the new improved Molly. We have the Kirsten as that was the first doll my daughter got in 1988 after reading all the books and falling in love with her character. There were only a few dolls back then so it was much easier to choose one according to whose story line you liked best. Where do you get these tips like the info on Molly’s books and possible rerelease? I feel like I watch pretty closely but obviously, I don’t know where to look. Thanks, Jen, for your recent post, I enjoy reading them all! It is a wonderful blessing to have a daughter to share your love of dolls with!!
    Gloria

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Hi Gloria, Nice to hear from you. I’ve always been interested in Kirsten… my Dad was from Minnesota .
      Getting tips… imagine me in a dark alley… a briefcase with unmarked bills…Not really! A great place to keep up on what is going on in the AG world is http://www.agplaythings.com which includes a message board (forum for discussing topics).
      I don’t belong to Costco myself, but if you search for Kit Costco you may come up with an image of the box they are selling for the holidays.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Gloria

        Hi, Jen,
        We are from WI, close enough, I guess. My daughter really liked the Anne of Green Gables series and Little House on the Prairie-type shows, etc. The fact that my daughter had long blonde hair helped some too in her choice. (She now has three girls of her own to play American dolls with, so cool!)
        Now, you be careful going down those dark alleys, and make sure you have enough unmarked bills to get back out.
        I agree with you about the release of Felicity. You surely would have thought they would have had a whole line of things ready to go with her. But I guess, Felicity and Saige have a lot in common with their love of horses, just a couple centuries off, so they should be able to share clothing, hehe.
        We don’t have a Costco near us either but I will google it.
        I am going to stop trying to find out what’s happening in the future, I’ll just wait for you to tell me. I do appreciate the heads up, you’re fun to follow.
        Have a blessed week!
        Gloria

        Like

      2. Gloria

        Hi, Jen,
        I clicked on that agplaythings link but did not see a message board but I am so knew to these kinds of things that it could be right under my eyes and I wouldn’t see it.
        Gloria

        Like

  3. kissedawake

    How fun!! 🙂 I’m glad you all got to meet up! Boo to the long ear piercing line, though! I’m really surprised Kirsten isn’t next up, too – especially when they just released a ’40’s girl (although, maybe that IS why they’re doing it?). Kit being cubed is a tiny bit surprising. On one hand, her short hair seems to be pretty popular, but on the other hand, her outfits make her look younger than she is (or get mistaken for Bitty Baby outfits). I’m glad you’re on Instagram now! It’s much easier to update when things are busy haha.

    Like

    Reply
  4. jackylina

    Yay! Seeing all the pics again brings back happy memories! Fun times!! Have you seen the new leaked navy blue sweater for Molly? Possibly her meet outfit? I love it!!! Its exactly like the one she always wears in the illustrations. There’s also a leaked pic of possibly the doll herself but it’s hard to say. I would be surprised if she gets a collection though. And that would make me super mad that Felicity didn’t! But id rather have cubed dolls than retired and gone ones.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Xyra

    Looks like a great meeting! I love how Kanani dressed to meet Nanea.
    Are we certain Molly is coming out of the archives? with Nanea filling the time frame the book re-release would be to give another perspective to WW2 home fronts.
    I’m also surprised they are thinking of archiving Kit, she’s a best seller – of course, with the new create your own with short wigs…
    Thank you for an interesting post.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Pingback: AG Store Event 2017 | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

